Your browser is not supported

Your browser is too old. To use this website, please use Chrome or Firefox.

Honouring Fort Erie’s Firefighters

Fort Erie’s firefighters were honoured at the 29th Annual Service Awards Ceremony, on Saturday, April 27.

Firefighters were honoured for five, 10, 15, 30 and 45 years of service, retirement and a Special Service Award.

Laird Kinghorn a firefighter with Station #2 and public educator was honoured for his 45 years of service.

Kinghorn began his career in suppression as a firefighter on March 21, 1973 at Station #2 and progressed through the ranks impressively due to hard work and a “relentless spirit”.

He then transferred to the Public Education Division in November 2017 where is knowledge and dedication have been greatly appreciated by the community. He received the award with his wife Lesley.

Firefighter James “Jim” Ramsay was honoured for 16 years of “unselfish, unmatched dedication to the community and the fire department” as he received no remuneration for his emergency responses or training due to his position as an Ontario Superior Court judge.

Some of Ramsay’s exemplary contributions included Station 5 Chaplain, Station 5 Driver/Trainer and Fire Chief/Firefighter Liaison Committee member. He will continue to help the fire department with future special projects. Ramsay’s wife Brenda was in attendance to celebrate his remarkable contributions.

Volunteer Firefighter Harry Hayslip, who passed away earlier this year due to a motor vehicle accident, was presented posthumously his 10-year award. Accepting on his behalf were Dianna Hayslip (nee Knutt) and Daniel and Debbie Hayslip.

Celebrating five years of service were Blake Farnan, Michael Grover, Brad MacDonald, Jeff Duckett,  Christopher Zanutto, Andrew Kobe, Michael Ventresca and Matthew Richardson.

Shane Miner, Jeff Bouchard and David Potter were presented their 10-year recognition.

Serving the Fort Erie community for 15 years are Shane McKernan, Brian Casey, Kathie Bath and Jacqualyn Junkin.

Art Drover was recognized for his 30 years of service.

Retiring after 16 years of service were Ken Teal and Jason Armstrong.

James Ramsay was presented with the department’s Special Service Award.

Kevin Morin, a 26-year veteran; Jeff Putman, 32-year veteran; Rohinton Mistry a 41-year veteran; and William Troupe III a 41-year veteran retired and were presented with awards reflecting their respective years of service.

Fort Erie Mayor Wayne Redekop, Niagara Falls MPP Wayne Gates, Deputy Fire Chief Jeremy Inglis and Fire Chief Ed Melanson were on hand to present the recipients with their awards.

Find out how you can place a
listing with us!

Support local news with
Fort Erie Observer